Short Course on Islamic Finance

INCEIF has, for the second time, conducted a short course on Islamic Finance under the Ministry of Foreign Affairs’ Malaysian Technical Cooperation Programme (MTCP).  Themed “Practical Shariah Aspects in Islamic Finance”, the course was held from 30 November – 3 December 2011 at Corus Hotel Kuala Lumpur. A total of 16 participants from 9 countries (Algeria, Bhutan, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Indonesia, Kazakhstan, Nigeria, Oman, Philippines and Uganda) and 2 Bank Negara Malaysia staff attended the short course. The course covered the following modules:

  • An Overview on Shariah Aspects in Business and Finance (Dr. Ahsene Lahsasna, Lecturer, Shariah and Legal Studies Department)
  • Shariah Applications in Islamic Banking (Prof. Dr. Saiful Azhar Rosly, Professor, Head of Banking Department)
  • Shariah Applications in Takaful (Mr. Ezamshah Ismail, Teaching Fellow, Takaful and Wealth Planning Department)
  • Shariah Applications in Islamic Capital Market (Prof. Dr. Obiyathullah Ismath Bacha, Professor of Finance, Head of Finance & Accounting Department)
  • Shariah Applications in Islamic Wealth Planning and Management (Prof. Datuk Dr. Syed Othman Alhabshi, Chief Academic Officer)


Participants in a group photo with INCEIF Chief Academic Officer Prof. Datuk Dr. Syed Othman Alhabshi (front row, seventh from right).


During the ‘Country Presentation’ session on the last day of the course, the participants spoke on the current state and potential of Islamic finance in their respective countries.

Last year, 20 participants from 12 countries attended a similar short course themed “Islamic Finance – Practices, Issues and Challenges” under the same arrangement with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. The idea for the Malaysian Technical Cooperation Programme was first conceived in February 1978 at the First Commonwealth Heads of Government (CHOGM) meeting in Sydney, Australia.  The Programme was officially launched on 7 September 1980 at the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting in New Delhi, India, to signify Malaysia’s commitment to South-South cooperation, in particular Technical Cooperation among Developing Countries (TCDC).

Share this post